The Safe Water Project is administered from the Keewaytinook Centre of Excellence in Dryden, Ontario, where water operator training courses are offered and where certified operators monitor water quality in participating communities, providing support and guidance when issues arise.

The Project is currently operational in 19 First Nations, represented by four tribal councils:

Independent First Nations Alliance

  • Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug First Nation
  • Lac Seul First Nation
  • Muskrat Dam First Nation
  • Pikangikum First Nation

Keewaytinook Okimakanak

  • Deer Lake First Nation
  • Fort Severn First Nation
  • Keewaywin First Nation
  • North Spirit Lake First Nation
  • Poplar Hill First Nation

Shibogama First Nations Council

  • Kasabonika First Nation
  • Kingfisher Lake First Nation
  • Wapekeka First Nation
  • Wawakapewin First Nation
  • Wunnumin First Nation

Windigo First Nations Council

  • Bearskin Lake First Nation
  • Cat Lake First Nation
  • North Caribou Lake
  • Sachigo Lake First Nation
  • Slate Falls First Nation

In addition to these 19, a number of other First Nations have expressed interest in partnering with the Safe Water Project, and Keewaytinook Okimakanak looks forward to working with them to help their communities access safe, clean drinking water.